December 2, 2008

  • What I Really Crave in Singapore

    Singapore is known for their dishes such as Hainan Chicken Rice, Hokkien Prawn Mee (U.S. spells it “mein”), oyster omellette, duck rice, and Laksa.  People who’ve been to Singapore and Malaysia would order such dishes to no end in sight.  It’s understandable.  If you had told me three plus years ago, that I would try such dishes and be hooked on them, I’d have you committed somewhere. 

    I’m visiting Singapore for like the 6th or 7th time in the past three years.  I don’t mind the frequent visit there, and I came close to settling here.  In the beginning of 2008 I came to the conclusion and surrendered to the decision to no longer pursue a life in Singapore.  I still have a clear goal to perform in the Esplanade Theater there, but I don’t necessarily have to live in Singapore to do so.  When that incident during the Singapore Fringe Festival occured, I took the hint.  I decided to make the best of the situation I was in while living in the SF Bay Area.  It was an area taken for granted, I must admit.  This past year, I learned a very valuable lesson about as long as I’m present and in the moment (not like for acting, but for living life) it doesn’t matter where I’m living.  It’s about making the best of the situation by being the best I can be regardless of where I’m located. 

    But I still miss Singapore.  So off I went to visit again. 

    I’ve been here for the past 48 hours and so far, I’ve had 3 servings of various duck rice, 1 serving of Hainan Chicken Rice, wonton mee, xiaolung baos, and different forms of Southeast Asian desserts.  Yet, there was one item that surpassed all of those dishes put together. 

    I’ve had 5 servings of Ya Kun Kaya Toast Combo A.  It’s an addiction.  I’m more hooked on these toasted items than Krispy Kreme, Golden Gate Bakery Dun Tats, and Specialties Black n White cookies put together.  When I was having my 2nd serving of this scrumptious snack today, I realized that I have an addiction.  I travelled over 8400 miles just to get a toast fix.  Seriously.  Yes, I came back to Singapore curious about what it’s like to be there in a totally different state of being, and yes, I did order some suits that’ll help me be sustained for a couple of years, and yes, there’s great shopping to be done for Christmas.  But the truth be told, of all that I miss when I’m away from Singapore, it’s the Ya Kun Kaya Toast!

    Think about it, all the other dishes, I have access to elsewhere.  Duck I can have in Hong Kong, LA, SF, Oakland, ect.  Hainan Chicken Rice could be had for even cheaper in Thailand.  (under the dish name Ka Mun Gai)  In the Bay Area, I have to pay $8-9 for a dish that’s $1.50-7.00 in Southeast Asia.  Wonton mein is available anywhere, and I recently discovered that oyster omellette is also available in the States, though it’s not as good as Singapore.  I have yet to find the Hokkien Prawn Mee in the States, but this is not one of my preferred dishes. 

    There will not be a Ya Kun Kaya Toast opening in the States anytime soon.  That is something I feel the need to stock up on while visiting Singapore, and I go there every chance I get.  If you were to travel with me to Singapore, Ya Kun Kaya is a “MUST GO” otherwise that’d be the last time you’d travel with me to Singapore. 

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *